ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest: first solo round-the-world race aboard an Ultim 32/23!

History seen by

© Éric Loizeau 

A sea change

For offshore racers obsessed with singlehanded sailing, the true sea change was witnessed in December 1978, when Canadian Mike Birch, against all the odds, took victory in the first Route du Rhum after one last bitter duel, which saw him beating[1] along the coast of Guadeloupe, neck and neck with the large monohull skippered by Michel Malinovsky. The daily sports newspapers headlined with “David takes victory over Goliath” because, to all intents and purposes, a little 11m30 trimaran had defeated a 23m monohull.

As a young offshore racer who’d secured two victories in the recent crewed round the world race, I decided to set my sights on the next OSTAR, queen of the singlehanded races, which had already been won twice over by my mentor and spiritual father in sailing, Eric Tabarly. From Plymouth to Newport, the course was predominantly upwind, and I got it into my head that I would build a ‘machine capable of going to windward’, so I asked my friend from La Rochelle, a young naval architect by the name of Philippe Briand, to design me a monohull measuring 60-feet, 18m30, the maximum permitted size. 

After listening to the race finish on the radio and then analysing the various incidents along the way, as well as the course adopted by the two boats, it was obvious that I had to purchase a trimaran. Too bad for Philippe!  I immediately contacted Walter Greene, the guy that built Mike Birch’s boat and an expert from this new American school, who would go on to design me an extraordinary 45-foot (13m70) trimaran, Gauloises 4.

Multihulls join the fray

Indeed, prior to Mike Birch’s surprise win, multihulls, which were inspired by the Polynesian pirogue-style canoes, were renowned for being quick in downwind conditions, but ill-at-ease in light airs and punching into the wind. They were also thought to be fragile and dangerous. 

The only really high-performance racing trimaran, Pen Duick IV, which later went on to be known as Manureva, was designed for Eric Tabarly by André Allègre in 1968, since the latter, in typically visionary fashion, had decreed that “the future of singlehanded races would revolve around multihulls!”

However, prior to the victories posted by Mike Birch in the Route du Rhum 1978 and Phil Weld (Moxie) in the 1980 OSTAR, multihulls hadn’t really shown their true mettle in singlehanded racing. It’s largely down to these unprecedented successes and a boom in sponsorship between 1980 and 1984 that multihulls really took off at this point! 

At the same time, there was a growing interest in foils. Eric Tabarly was the first to bite with his boat Paul Ricard, with which he set a new crewed transatlantic record, followed by a series of foiling trimarans measuring around fifteen metres, designed by Marc Lombard, a talented young naval architect who is later responsible for the first retractable appendages, and then Charles Heidsieck’s 26-metre giant designed by Gilles Ollier. 

Catamarans of exponential proportions

In 1984, after a second edition of the Route du Rhum, which saw a 20-metre catamaran (Marc Pajot’s Elf Aquitaine) secure the win, the latter boats became very popular as they were more geared towards the next four years of competition. Multiple discussions ensue about boat length, which was initially set at 20 metres by the assembly of international oceanic multihull racers (ACIMO), before increasing exponentially, prompting the appearance of the first giant catamarans of the seas: Tag Heuer 24 metres, Fleury Michon, Charente Maritime and Royale, all of them bordering on 26 metres!

Going back to basics on trimarans

Very soon though, the solo sailors returned to trimarans again, primarily for safety reasons. Indeed, to perform well, catamarans have to fly a hull, a sailing technique which is suited to crewed format, but less so to solo sailing, where around fifty per cent of the time is spent at the helm. On penalty of capsize then, it’s imperative to reduce the boat’s sail area, which obviously affects its speed. 

Philippe Poupon is all too aware of this fact, opting for a 75-foot (22.85m) trimaran to snatch victory in the Route du Rhum in 1986. This race proves to be devastating for the maxi-multihulls, with capsizes suffered by Royale (her skipper Loïc Caradec lost at sea), and Jean Stalaven and retirements by Charente Maritime, Côte d’Or, Roger et Gallet, Apricot and Jet Services. This prompts the organisers to fall into line with the British and limit the size of the boats to 60-feet for the next singlehanded races. It is a blessing in disguise as the new generation of ORMA trimarans, all equipped with the first foils to make the floats lighter and prevent the bows from burying into the waves, herald the beginning of today’s gigantic lifting surfaces.

The 21st century and its trimarans in excess of 100-feet

These same boats are deemed perfect for crossing the Atlantic, yet they are not suited to crewed round the world ‘flights’. As such, at the dawn of the 21st century, the construction of the first true giant trimarans begins with boats bordering on and even exceeding 100-feet in length (30m), the main focus of which is the Jules Verne Trophy (crewed round the world record). 

The first of the series is Géronimo skippered by Olivier de Kersauson (34m) and built at Multiplast in Vannes in 2001, and the largest of them all Spindrift, ex-Banque Populaire, measuring 40 metres long and 23 wide, she too designed by naval architects VPLP, in 2008. 

Equally, we mustn’t forget the maxi-catamarans designed by Gilles Ollier and built in the early noughties at Multiplast once again: Innovation Explorer (32m80) skippered by Loïck Peyron for The Race (the only crewed round the world race for multihulls), followed in 2003 by the colossus Orange 2 (36m80) helmed by a 13-strong crew, a record-breaking boat, which set a new reference time around the world in 2005 of 50 days and 16 hours at an average speed of 17.9 knots!

We must wait until 2010 though for the true comeback by the solo giants when victory is awarded to Franck Cammas in the Route du Rhum (once again run with no size limit) aboard his fabulous 31m50 trimaran, Groupama 3, initially designed to take on the Jules Verne Trophy. With this boat and this achievement, Franck will pave the way forward for singlehanded round the world record attempts on maxi-trimarans and play an integral part in the creation of the Ultim Class. François Gabart draws inspiration from this performance to create his first Macif in 2017, a 32-metre trimaran with which he will erase the previous records set by Francis Joyon in 2008 (57 days 13 hours 4 minutes), and Thomas Coville in 2017 (49 days 3 hours 4 minutes), with a new reference time of 42 days 16 hours 40 minutes. Blisteringly quick, it’s important not to forget the first brave souls to dare to pull off this feat, namely Philippe Monnet (1986 - 129 days), Olivier de Kersauson (1989 - 125 days) and Ellen MacArthur (2004 - 71 days)!

All this will prefigure the next Ultim race, the superlative event, which will set sail from Brest in late 2023: the first non-stop round the world race on a multihull via the three capes and the largest event in the history of offshore racing, ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest, which will see the largest flying trimarans in the world battling it out on the oceans, helmed by the boldest skippers of all time.

[1] Beating: tacking as close as possible to the wind, a point of sail necessary for following a trajectory taking you into the wind without stopping (because a boat that is being headed by the wind cannot make forward headway)

ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest : premier tour du monde en course, en solitaire, à bord d’un Ultim 32/23 !

l'histoire vue par

© Éric Loizeau 

Le grand tournant

Dans l’esprit des coureurs au large obnubilés par la navigation en solitaire, le vrai tournant s’est opéré en décembre 1978 lorsque le Canadien Mike Birch, déjouant tous les pronostics, remporte la première Route du Rhum après un dernier âpre duel au louvoyage[1] le long des côtes guadeloupéennes contre le grand monocoque de Michel Malinowski. Les quotidiens de sport avaient titré « la victoire de David contre Goliath », car un petit trimaran de 11m30 avait vaincu aux yeux de tous, un monocoque de 23m.

Jeune coureur au large auréolé de deux victoires dans la récente course autour du monde en équipage, je rêvais alors de m’aligner sur la prochaine OSTAR, la reine des courses en solitaire remportée deux fois par mon maître et père spirituel en matière de voile Eric Tabarly. De Plymouth à Newport, c’est un parcours presque exclusivement contre le vent et je m’étais mis dans la tête de faire construire une « machine à remonter le vent » demandant à mon pote rochelais le jeune architecte Philippe Briand de me dessiner un monocoque de 60 pieds, 18m30, la taille maximum autorisée. 

Après avoir écouté à la radio l’arrivée de la course puis analysé les péripéties et le parcours des deux bateaux, il m’était paru évident d’acquérir un trimaran. Dommage pour Philippe !  Je contactais aussitôt Walter Greene le constructeur du bateau de Mike Birch et expert de cette nouvelle école américaine qui allait me concevoir un trimaran extraordinaire de 45 pieds (13m70), Gauloises 4.

Les multicoques entrent dans l’arène

En effet, jusqu’à la victoire surprise de Mike Birch, les multicoques, inspirés des pirogues polynésiennes, avaient la réputation de bateaux certes rapides aux allures portantes, mais empruntés dans le petit temps et contre le vent. On les pensait aussi fragiles et dangereux. 

Le seul trimaran de course vraiment performant, Pen Duick IV devenu par la suite Manureva, avait été conçu par André Allègre pour Eric Tabarly en 1968 puisque ce dernier, toujours aussi visionnaire, avait décrété que « l’avenir des courses en solitaire se jouerait en multicoque » ! 

Finalement, avant les victoires de Mike Birch sur la Route du Rhum 78 et de Phil Weld (Moxie) sur l’OSTAR de 1980, les multicoques n’avaient pas vraiment convaincu pour courir en solitaire. C’est grâce à ces succès indiscutables et aussi à l’envolée du « sponsoring » qu’entre 1980 et 1984 les multicoques vont connaître un véritable essor ! 

C’est à ce moment aussi, que l’on commence à s’intéresser aux foils. Eric Tabarly d’abord avec son bateau Paul Ricard, avec lequel il bat le record de l’Atlantique en équipage, suivi par une série de trimarans à foils d’une quinzaine de mètres dessinés par Marc Lombard, jeune architecte naval talentueux à qui on devra plus tard les premiers appendices rétractables, puis le géant Charles Heidsieck, plan Ollier de 26 mètres. 

Des catamarans aux dimensions exponentielles

En 1984, après une seconde édition de la Route du Rhum gagnée par un catamaran de 20 mètres (Elf Aquitaine de Marc Pajot), la roue tourne en faveur de ces derniers plus adaptés aux compétitions des quatre années à venir. Après de nombreuses discussions sur la longueur des bateaux, d’abord fixée à 20 mètres par l’assemblée des coureurs (ACIMO) puis dépassée d’une façon exponentielle, apparaissent les premiers catamarans géants des mers : Tag Heuer 24 mètres, Fleury Michon, Charente Maritime, Royale, tous approchant les 26 mètres !

Retour aux fondamentaux sur trimarans

Mais rapidement, les solitaires vont revenir aux trimarans tout d’abord pour des raisons de sécurité. En effet, pour être performants, les catamarans doivent naviguer avec la coque au vent sortie de l’eau, une technique de navigation adaptée à l’équipage mais moins au solitaire qui passe environ cinquante pour cent de son temps à la barre. Sous peine de chavirer, il est obligatoire alors de réduire la voilure du bateau ce qui affecte évidemment sa vitesse. 

Philippe Poupon en est bien conscient puisqu’il choisit un trimaran de 75 pieds (22,85m) pour gagner la Route du Rhum de 1986. Cette course s’avère une hécatombe pour les maxi-multicoques avec les chavirages de Royale (disparition de son skipper Loïc Caradec), de Jean Stalaven, les abandons de Charente Maritime, Côte d’Or, Roger et Gallet, Apricot, Jet Services. Elle incite les organisateurs à s’aligner sur les Britanniques et limiter la taille des bateaux à 60 pieds pour les prochaines courses en solitaire. Ce sera un mal pour un bien puisque la nouvelle génération des trimarans ORMA, tous équipés des premiers foils allégeant les flotteurs et évitant que l’avant du bateau ne plante dans les vagues, va permettre une première ébauche des gigantesques plans porteurs d’aujourd’hui.

Le 21e siècle et ses trimarans de plus de 100 pieds

Cela dit, ces bateaux, parfaits pour traverser l’Atlantique ne correspondent pas aux envolées « tourdumondistes » en équipage. Ce qui explique, qu’à l’orée du 21e siècle, la construction des premiers vrais trimarans géants approchant ou dépassant les 100 pieds de long (30m) et destinés en priorité au Trophée Jules Verne (Record du tour du monde en équipage) sera lancée. 

Le premier de la série étant Géronimo d’Olivier de Kersauson (34m) construit chez Multiplast à Vannes en 2001 et le plus grand Spindrift, ex-Banque Populaire, de 40 mètres de long et 23 de large, conçu en 2008 également par le cabinet d’architecture VPLP. 

Sans oublier les maxi catamarans dessinés par Gilles Ollier et construits au début des années 2000 toujours chez Multiplast : Innovation Explorer (32m80) skippé par Loick Peyron pour The Race (seule course autour du monde en équipage en multicoques), suivi en 2003 par le mastodonte Orange 2 (36m80) mené par une équipe de 13 personnes, bateau de record établissant en 2005 un nouveau temps de référence autour du monde en 50 jours 16 heures avec une moyenne horaire de 17, 9 noeuds !

Mais le véritable retour des géants solitaires se fera en 2010 avec la victoire de Franck Cammas sur la Route du Rhum (courue de nouveau sans limite de taille) à bord de son fabuleux trimaran de 31m50, Groupama 3 conçu initialement pour s’attaquer au Trophée Jules Verne. Avec ce bateau et cet exploit Franck ouvrira la voie aux tentatives de records autour du monde en solitaire sur des maxi trimarans et contribuera à la naissance de la Classe Ultim. François Gabart s’en inspirera pour concevoir son premier Macif, trimaran de 32 mètres avec lequel il effacera en 2017 les performances précédentes de Francis Joyon en 2008 (57 jours 13 heures 4 minutes), de Thomas Coville en 2017 (49 jours 3 heures 4 minutes), avec un nouveau temps de référence de 42 jours 16 heures 40 minutes qui ne doit pas faire oublier les premiers téméraires à oser un tel exploit, Philippe Monnet (1986 - 129 jours), Olivier de Kersauson (1989 - 125 jours), Ellen MacArthur (2004 - 71 jours) !

Cela préfigurera la prochaine course ultime, celle de tous les superlatifs, qui partira de Brest fin 2023, première course autour du monde par les trois caps, en solitaire et en multicoque, l’événement majeur de l’histoire de la course au large, l’ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest, qui verra s’affronter sur les océans les plus grands trimarans volants du monde menés par les plus audacieux des skippers.

[1] Louvoyage : virements de bord au plus près du vent, nécessaires pour emprunter une trajectoire face au vent sans être arrêté (car un bateau face au vent, ne peut avancer) 

ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA