ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest: first solo round-the-world race aboard an Ultim 32/23!

Presentation

THE DAWNING OF AN EXTRAORDINARY RACE…

As we’ll see, this race of the century has been nearly twenty years in the making after what has been an action-packed, treacherous and turbulent passage worthy of the Southern Ocean!

As is often the case in the Finistère department in north-west France, good ideas are often brewed in a bar! 

However, back in November 2006, Roland Tresca and François Cuillandre, respectively President of the Télégramme Développement Group and the Mayor of Brest, are not sitting in a Breton tavern sharing a pitcher of cider. Instead, they are sat at a table in the sticky tropical heat at Créole Beach Hotel in Pointe-à-Pitre, Guadeloupe, an establishment frequented by sailors competing in the Route du Rhum, a race won with great panache just days earlier by Lionel Lemonchois on his 60-foot ORMA trimaran Gitana 11. 

Roland Tresca explains: “I made the most of the opportunity to set out an idea, which I’d had on the back burner since Francis Joyon’s arrival in Brest, in early February 2004, which saw him shatter the singlehanded round the world record on a multihull set by Olivier de Kersauson in 1989. Back then, I was tasked by the Télégramme Group with diversifying the group. Two years earlier, we’d missed out on buying up the Vendée Globe, so I’d said to myself that it was imperative we set ourselves the ambitious challenge of creating a race for tomorrow, and it had to be this one. With this in mind, in June 2004, I wrote a short but detailed note along these lines to really set the scene: the first non-stop round the world race on a multihull, otherwise known as ‘the race of the century’. In the meantime, we’d taken control of the Pen Duick company, which specialises in the organisation of yacht races, namely the double-handed Transat Jacques Vabre, and we then bought the Route du Rhum, the Transat AG2R and the Trophée BPE. By that point, we were ideally placed to offer to organise a planetary event of this scale! As such, I explained the concept of this round the world race to the mayor, highlighting the fact that the city of Brest would be well advised to snap up this historic opportunity.”

On the strength of his team’s excellent organisation of the Route du Rhum race, Pierre Bojic, the then boss of Pen Duick, drove the point home, further reassuring the mayor about the credibility of the proposal. Régis Rassouli, a young man from Brest in charge of the race communication and a connoisseur of his city, backed up this sentiment, so much so that a meeting was arranged at the Paris Boat Show to move the project forward.

As agreed, the relevant parties came together in Paris in December 2006. Roland Tresca and Pierre Bojic met with the mayor and, before even going into the finer details of the project, they quickly realised that he was in complete support of their idea. Indeed, it was totally in keeping with his vision for the city which, aside from the many record attempts, had been out of the loop with major offshore races for a long time. A possible date is envisaged of 2010 to 2011, to give them time to rally together the racers and their operators and possibly build new boats, with the emphasis on finding financial backing along the way.

With this in mind, exactly a year later, at the Transat Jacques Vabre finish, Pierre Bojic suggested that the next Route du Rhum, which had a 60-foot limit up to that point, be opened to large boats with no restriction on size. This prompted an uproar from the ORMA class (60-foot trimarans), which boasted the largest fleet. It was a risky approach as there were few giant multihulls in existence at the time. However, these initial shock waves calmed down fairly quickly after a few heated discussions.

By this time, it was January 2008! Once again, the tireless Francis Joyon pulled off another massive achievement by making it back to Brest after 57 days at sea racing singlehanded around the world on his trimaran IDEC Sport, beating the previous record held by the sensational British sailor Ellen MacArthur by more than 14 days. The day after his triumphant finish, Pen Duick and Télégramme Group decided to ride the wave of positivity and officially announce the launch of the round the world race for Ultims with a start in Brest planned for late 2011. Despite what some might describe as a surprising reticence on the part of certain sailors, including Francis and Ellen, solely Thomas Coville really expressing any enthusiasm, the future looks pretty bright. 

With the relatively lukewarm response from certain racers, perhaps it’s important to understand that there’s a real difference between a singlehanded record and a race against other boats, especially over a long and exposed round the world course. Indeed, competing against others often prompts competitors to take more risks by pushing their steed beyond her limits. However, the limit for a multihull is capsize, with all that such an incident implies in the hostile, deserted regions that make up the Deep South!

As a result, the subsequent years will be devoted to various tasks associated with bringing the project to fruition, including drawing up a draft contract with the city of Brest and various media, registration of the Brest Ultim Challenge brand, searching for partners and definitively opening up the Route du Rhum to Ultims from 2010 to encourage this new category. Alas, their multiple efforts were in vain! 

Despite the enthusiasm of the Télégramme-Pen Duick-Ville de Brest teams and Franck Cammas’ fabulous victory in the Route du Rhum aboard the maxi-trimaran Groupama 3, the planned start in late 2011 is a no go. There are various reasons for this. The main one relates to the economic and financial crisis which has been rife across Europe for a good two years, delaying the construction of new boats and the arrival of partners. The second relates to the lingering doubts previously voiced by the sailors about the validity of such a singlehanded race around the planet.

It's another few years before business improves. With plans to build new maxi-trimarans, including Banque Populaire and Sodebo, the operators get together in 2013 to create an Ultim Collective, followed by an Ultim Class in 2015, with a rule drawn up between them: the length of the boats is set at 32 metres, with a beam of 23 metres, which automatically excludes the new MOD 70 class and the gigantic 40-metre Spindrift, the ex-Banque Populaire 5 bought by the Bertarelli family! Next up, this new 32/23 Class announces a round the world race setting sail from Brest in 2019, which it is keen to organise itself… However, things don’t go according to plan!

Despite the extraordinary performance posted in December 2017 by François Gabart, who sails solo around the world on his trimaran Macif in a record time of 42 days 16 hours, the Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe 2018 witnesses disastrous results among the Ultim trimarans. Banque Populaire breaks a crossbeam, capsizes and cannot be recovered, Gitana retires, Sodebo and Macif, though they secure a podium finish, suffer serious damage. All these disappointments force the Ultim Class to give up on the planned 2019 start. They announce its postponement a few days later, after the Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe, which sees the tenacious Francis Joyon take victory!

From this point, the organisation team for this round the world race is dealt a new hand! Discussions are resumed between OC Sport-Pen Duick, presided over by Hervé Favre by then, and the Ultim Class directed by its president Patricia Brochard. In 2021, negotiations result in an agreement between the two parties announcing the start of this famous round the world race in late 2023, with the possibility of a second edition four years later.

Off the back of this agreement, the authorities of Brest and Brest Métropole, the Breton region and the department of Finistère confirm their partnership and five Ultim racing stables confirm their participation. Further good news is to follow on 22 April 2022, when the ARKEA group takes on the role of title partner for the race, which will go by the name: ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest.

After twenty years coloured by various negotiations, this unique project has finally come to fruition and with it comes the promise of an eagerly awaited planetary race. In addition to Roland Tresca, the initiator and the common link between the project’s journey and its various ‘travelling companions’, Pierre Bojic and then Hervé Favre heading up OC Sport Pen Duick, numerous sailors and celebrities from the world of offshore racing have also worked behind the scenes to make this project a reality. More recently the Ultim Class and all its operators have played a key role in making the event happen. Without them, none of this would have been possible.

Finally, the Télégramme Group, through its president Edouard Coudurier, convinced by the idea of this race from the start, has been a tireless driving force in this interminable process. Today, it can be proud to rank among the famous press groups, which have created a major yacht race, just like the Sunday Times Golden Globe Challenge in 1968, the first solo non-stop round the world race, and the Solitaire l’Aurore-Le Figaro in 1970.

Presentation

Arrival of François Gabart in the port of Brest in 2017

© Ronan Gladu

ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest : premier tour du monde en course, en solitaire, à bord d’un Ultim 32/23 !

La genèse

LA GENÈSE D'UNE COURSE HORS NORMES…

Comme on le verra, la genèse de cette course du siècle qui a pris presque vingt années, a été tout sauf un long fleuve tranquille avec un parcours houleux digne des mers du Sud parsemé d’embûches et de rebondissements divers !

Comme souvent en Finistère, les bonnes idées naissent au coin d’un bar ! 

Mais en ce mois de novembre 2006, Roland Tresca et François Cuillandre, respectivement Président de Groupe Télégramme Développement et Maire de Brest, ne se trouvent pas assis dans un estaminet breton autour d’un pichet de cidre, mais juste attablés dans la chaleur moite des tropiques au Créole Beach de Pointe-à-Pitre, établissement fréquenté par les marins de la Route du Rhum remportée brillamment quelques jours plus tôt par Lionel Lemonchois sur son trimaran ORMA de 60 pieds Gitana 11. 

Roland Tresca raconte : « Je profite de l’occasion pour lui exposer une idée qui a germé dans mon esprit après l’arrivée de Francis Joyon à Brest, début février 2004, alors que ce dernier vient d’exploser le record du tour du monde en solitaire en multicoque établi par Olivier de Kersauson en 1989. À cette époque, je suis chargé par le Groupe Télégramme de la diversification du groupe. Deux ans auparavant, nous avions manqué le rachat du Vendée Globe et je m’étais dit qu’il fallait se fixer un cap ambitieux et imaginer la course de demain qui ne pouvait être que celle-là. Ainsi, dès le mois de juin 2004, j’avais écrit une courte note circonstanciée qui allait dans ce sens afin de bien planter le décor : la première course autour du monde en multicoque sans escale, autrement dit « la course du siècle ».  Entre-temps, nous avions repris le contrôle de la société Pen Duick spécialisée dans l’organisation des courses à la voile dont la Transat en double Jacques Vabre et racheté la Route du Rhum puis la Transat AG2R et le Trophée BPE. Nous étions alors parfaitement armés pour proposer l’organisation d’un tel évènement planétaire ! J’explique donc au Maire le concept de ce tour du monde en soulignant que la ville de Brest serait bien inspirée de saisir cette opportunité historique. »

Pierre Bojic, alors patron de Pen Duick, et fort de l’excellente organisation de la Route du Rhum par son équipe, enfonce le clou et rassure le maire, Régis Rassouli jeune brestois en charge de la communication de la course et fin connaisseur de Brest ajoute sa pierre à l’édifice, si bien qu’un rendez-vous est pris au Salon Nautique parisien pour avancer sur le projet.

Comme convenu la réunion s’organise au Salon Nautique de Paris en décembre 2006. Roland Tresca et Pierre Bojic rencontrent le maire et s’aperçoivent avant même de détailler le projet qu’il est totalement acquis à leur idée qui correspond tout à fait aux ambitions de sa ville longtemps en retrait des grands rendez-vous de course au large, à l’exception des records. On imagine alors une date possible entre 2010 et 2011, le temps de motiver les coureurs et leurs armateurs, éventuellement de construire de nouveaux bateaux et surtout de trouver des partenaires financiers.

Pour agir dans ce sens, exactement un an plus tard, à l’arrivée de la Transat Jacques Vabre, Pierre Bojic propose que la prochaine Route du Rhum jusqu’alors limitée aux 60 pieds, soit ouverte aux grands bateaux sans restriction de taille. Cela provoque un tollé de la classe ORMA (trimarans de 60 pieds) la plus représentée et comporte un risque car à ce moment il existe peu de multicoques géants. Ces premiers soubresauts se calment toutefois assez vite après quelques discussions houleuses.

Nous voici en janvier 2008 ! L’infatigable Francis Joyon, toujours lui, réalise de nouveau un immense exploit en revenant à Brest après 57 jours de mer en solitaire autour du monde sur son trimaran IDEC Sport, reléguant le précédent record de la sensationnelle britannique Ellen MacArthur à plus de 14 jours. Le lendemain de son arrivée triomphale, Pen Duick et le Groupe Télégramme en profitent pour annoncer officiellement le lancement du tour du monde des Ultimes avec un départ de Brest prévu à la fin de l’année 2011. Malgré la réticence surprenante de certains marins dont Francis et Ellen, seul Thomas Coville se montrant réellement enthousiaste, l’avenir se présente plutôt bien. 

Pour expliquer cette relative tiédeur de certains coureurs il faut comprendre qu’il existe une véritable différence entre un record solitaire et une course contre d’autres bateaux, particulièrement sur un parcours aussi long et exposé qu’un tour du monde. En effet, courir contre d’autres engage souvent à prendre plus de risques en poussant sa monture jusqu’en-dehors de ses limites. Or la limite d’un multicoque c’est le chavirage avec tout ce que cela implique dans les contrées hostiles et désertes du grand Sud !

Les années suivantes vont donc être consacrées aux tâches diverses liées à la réalisation du projet, ébauche de contrat avec la ville de Brest et différents médias, dépôt de la marque Brest Ultime Challenge, recherche de partenaires, ouverture définitive de la Route du Rhum 2010 aux Ultimes afin de renforcer cette nouvelle catégorie. En vain ! 

Malgré l’enthousiasme de l’équipe Télégramme-Pen Duick-Ville de Brest et la superbe victoire explicite de Franck Cammas dans la Route du Rhum à bord du maxi-trimaran Groupama 3, le départ prévu fin 2011 n’aura finalement pas lieu. Et cela pour diverses raisons. La principale étant la crise économico-financière qui a sévi en Europe depuis deux bonnes années retardant la construction de nouveaux bateaux et l’arrivée de partenaires, la seconde le reliquat toujours présent des craintes exprimées précédemment par les marins vis-à-vis d’une telle course planétaire en solitaire.

Il va falloir attendre quelques années supplémentaires pour que les affaires reprennent. Avec les projets de construction de nouveaux maxi-trimarans dont Banque Populaire et Sodebo, les armateurs se sont organisés en créant un Collectif Ultim dès 2013, puis une Classe Ultim en 2015 dont ils définissent la jauge : la longueur des bateaux est bloquée à 32 mètres, la largeur à 23 mètres, ce qui exclut d’office la nouvelle classe des MOD 70 et le gigantesque Spindrift, 40 mètres, ex-Banque Populaire 5 racheté par la famille Bertarelli ! Ensuite cette nouvelle Classe 32/23 annonce un tour du monde au départ de Brest en 2019 qu’elle souhaite organiser elle-même… Mais les choses ne se passent pas comme prévu !

Malgré l’extraordinaire exploit de François Gabart en décembre 2017 qui gravite autour du monde seul sur son trimaran Macif dans le temps record de 42 jours 16 heures, la Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe 2018 voit l’hécatombe des trimarans Ultim. Banque Populaire casse un bras de liaison, chavire et ne peut être récupéré, Gitana abandonne, Sodebo et Macif, bien que finissant sur le podium, connaissent de lourdes avaries. Toutes ces déconvenues obligent la Classe Ultim à renoncer au projet d’un départ en 2019. Ils annoncent son report quelques jours plus tard, à la suite de l’arrivée de la Route du Rhum - Destination Guadeloupe remportée par l’inusable Francis Joyon !

Dès lors, les cartes de l’organisation de ce tour du monde sont redistribuées ! Les discussions reprennent entre OC Sport-Pen Duick, désormais présidé par Hervé Favre, et la Classe Ultim dirigée par sa présidente Patricia Brochard. En 2021, cela aboutit à un accord entre les deux parties annonçant le départ de ce fameux tour du monde en fin d’année 2023, avec la possibilité d’une seconde édition quatre ans plus tard.

Dans la foulée, les collectivités Brest et Brest Métropole, la région Bretagne et le département du Finistère confirment leur partenariat et les cinq écuries d’Ultim leur participation. Et pour conclure cette belle dynamique, le 22 avril 2022 le groupe ARKEA devient le partenaire titre de la course qui s’appellera : ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest.

Vingt années de tractations diverses ont donc abouti à la réalisation de ce projet unique et la naissance de cette course planétaire que tout le monde attend. En plus de Roland Tresca initiateur et fil rouge du projet et ses compagnons de route, Pierre Bojic puis Hervé Favre à la direction d’OC Sport Pen Duick, de nombreux marins et personnalités du monde de la course au large ont œuvré en coulisses pour que ce projet devienne réalité.  Plus récemment la Classe Ultim et tous ses armateurs ont contribué de façon déterminante à son accomplissement. Sans eux, rien n’aurait été possible.

Enfin, le Groupe Télégramme, par l’entremise de son président Edouard Coudurier, convaincu dès l’origine par l’idée, a été le moteur infatigable de cet interminable processus. Il peut s’enorgueillir aujourd’hui de compter parmi les célèbres groupes de presse créateurs d’une grande course à la voile, tel le Sunday Times avec le Golden Globe Challenge de 1968, première course autour du monde en solitaire sans escale, ou la Solitaire l’Aurore-Le Figaro créée en 1970.

Rédigé par Éric Loizeau

La genèse

Arrivée de François Gabart au port de Brest en 2017 

© Ronan Gladu 

ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA