ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest: first solo round-the-world race aboard an Ultim 32/23!

The most extreme challenge ever in racing: a round-the-world race aboard the Ultim 32/23

A demanding race

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest

There will potentially be seven ‘Giants of the seas’ setting sail from Brest, helmed by a lone skipper, who will attempt an eastbound circumnavigation of the globe via the 3 capes (Good Hope, Leeuwin and Horn). It is a human and technological challenge taken on by the sailors who make up the Ultim 32/23 Class, supported by their operators and partners.

There are a handful of sailors who have already completed the course singlehanded on a multihull, including Francis Joyon, Dame Ellen MacArthur, Thomas Coville, and François Gabart, predominantly within the context of singlehanded round the world record campaigns under sail, but nobody has ever done so in a race!

Alone, aboard their giant multihulls, for 40 to 50 days, the skippers will come up against extreme variations in weather conditions, where they will have to contend with the wind, the waves, the swell and the ice. Anticyclonic systems with little breeze, as well as depressions which are often the source of strong winds, will punctuate the sailors’ lives throughout the race and colour the trajectory strategies they adopt.

The race is due to set sail from Brest, on the north-west tip of Brittany, in late 2023. The exact date will be unveiled shortly. The boats should make it back to the same point after around forty days at sea, if we refer to the current record set by François Gabart in 2017 (42 days 16 hours). The weather will likely be complicated. On the outward and return leg, the skippers will have to negotiate the Bay of Biscay and with it the threat of harsh winter depressions synonymous with the North Atlantic. Up next, the calms of the doldrums and the pitfalls of the Saint Helena High will serve as Justices of the Peace before plunging into the infernal Roaring Forties and even the Furious Fifties as far as Cape Horn. As is always the case in circumnavigations of the globe, the slog northwards and the vagaries of the weather along the coast of South America could well reshuffle the cards as the fleet makes its return to the northern hemisphere and the finish in Brest narrows. However, the real challenge for the solo sailors will be managing to complete the 21,600 nautical miles (the equivalent of 40,000 kilometres on land) that make up this round the world race without hitting any obstacles, submerged containers or marine mammals. A big ask given how difficult it is for the latter to sidestep the bows of these monster boats, capable of hurtling across the ocean at over 40 knots! 

To date, five Ultim racing stables have confirmed their participation: Actual (Yves Le Blévec), Gitana (Charles Caudrelier), Sodebo (Thomas Coville), Banque Populaire (Armel Le Cléac’h) and Ultim Sailing (skipper TBC). Alongside them on the start line we hope to see the inexhaustible Francis Joyon, arguably the most experienced sailor of them all in this type of exercise, and François Gabart’s SVR Lazartigue.

Five to seven giant trimarans then, helmed by as many prestigious solo sailors, competing in a race around the planet, which promises to be a fantastic maritime epic, the likes of which would have been unimaginable thirty years ago when large oceanic multihulls made their debut appearance!

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest

Follow the news of the race

22.04.2022

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE – Brest: Arkéa becomes Title Partner of the Ultim solo round the world race organized by OC Sport Pen Duick

Brest, April 22, 2022 - Arkéa, a major player in sports sponsorship that has been active in ocean racing for several years, today becomes, on…

Read More
ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest : premier tour du monde en course, en solitaire, à bord d’un Ultim 32/23 !

LE DÉFI LE PLUS EXTRÊME JAMAIS RÉALISÉ EN COURSE : UN TOUR DU MONDE EN SOLITAIRE, EN ULTIM 32/23 !

Une course exigeante

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest

Ils seront potentiellement sept « Géants des mers » à s’élancer de Brest, avec à leur bord un skipper solitaire, qui tentera de boucler un tour du monde d’Ouest en Est, par les 3 caps (Bonne-Espérance, Leewin et Horn). Un défi humain et technologique porté par les marins de la Classe Ultim 32/23 accompagnés de leurs armateurs et partenaires.

Certains d’entre eux ont déjà effectué le parcours en multicoque et en solitaire : Francis Joyon, Dame Ellen MacArthur, Thomas Coville, François Gabart ; notamment dans le cadre de campagnes de record du tour du monde à la voile en solitaire, mais jamais aucun ne l’a fait en course !

Seuls, sur leurs multicoques géants, pendant 40 à 50 jours, les skippers seront soumis à des variations extrêmes de conditions météorologiques et devront composer avec le vent, les vagues, la houle et les glaces. Les systèmes anticycloniques, peu ventés ainsi que les dépressions, le plus souvent à l’origine de vents forts, rythmeront la vie des marins à bord et influenceront les stratégies de trajectoire adoptées.

La course partira donc de Brest à la fin de l’année 2023. La date exacte n’est pas encore fixée mais sera dévoilée bientôt. Les bateaux devraient revenir à la pointe de la Bretagne au bout d’une quarantaine de jours si on se réfère au record actuel établi par François Gabart en 2017 (42 jours 16 heures). La météo risque d’être compliquée. Il faudra traverser à l’aller comme au retour le Golfe de Gascogne sous la menace des dures dépressions hivernales de l’Atlantique Nord. Ensuite les calmes du Pot au Noir et les pièges de l’anticyclone de St Hélène serviront de « juges de paix » avant de plonger dans l’enfer des Quarantièmes Rugissants voire des Cinquantièmes Hurlants jusqu’au Cap Horn. Comme toujours dans les tours du monde, la remontée vers le nord et les aléas de la météo le long des côtes sud-américaines pourraient redistribuer les cartes jusqu’au retour dans l’hémisphère Nord et l’arrivée dans le goulet de Brest. Mais le vrai challenge pour les solitaires sera d’arriver à parcourir les 21 600 milles marins (40 000 kilomètres terriens) de ce tour du monde sans heurter un obstacle, container immergé ou mammifères marins, sachant que ces derniers ont du mal à s’échapper devant les étraves de monstres déboulant sur l’océan parfois à plus de 40 nœuds !

A ce jour, cinq écuries Ultim ont validé leur participation : Actual (Yves Le Blévec), Gitana (Charles Caudrelier), Sodebo (Thomas Coville), Banque Populaire (Armel Le Cleach) et Ultim Sailing (skipper TBC). A leur côté on peut espérer retrouver sur la ligne de départ l’inépuisable Francis Joyon, peut-être le marin le plus expérimenté dans ce genre d’exercice, et le SVR Lazartigue de François Gabart.

Cinq à sept trimarans géants avec à bord autant de marins prestigieux engagés en solitaire dans une course planétaire, cela promet une épopée maritime fantastique que l’on n’imaginait même pas réalisable voici une trentaine d’année au moment de l’apparition des grands multicoques océaniques !

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE - Brest

Suivre les actualités de la course

22.04.2022

ARKEA ULTIM CHALLENGE – Brest : Arkéa devient Partenaire Titre du tour du monde ultime en solitaire organisé par OC Sport Pen Duick

A Brest, le 22 avril 2022 - Arkéa, acteur majeur du sponsoring sportif déjà présent depuis plusieurs années dans la course au large, devient…

En savoir plus

07.12.2021

Le Tour du Monde Ultim en solitaire partira de Brest en 2023

Annoncée officiellement en juillet dernier, la création du Tour du Monde Ultim en solitaire avait concrétisé un rêve vieux de 15 ans de voir…

En savoir plus
ARKEA
Brest Métropole
Région Bretagne
Département du Finistère
AMA